Mario Balotelli Talks Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool, AC Milan, Nice Transfer and More

Mario Balotelli Talks Jurgen Klopp, Liverpool, AC Milan, Nice Transfer and More

Mario Balotelli has revealed that he only spoke to Liverpoolmanager Jurgen Klopp once before leaving Anfield for Nice in the summer.

The Italian also insisted he was not at fault for failing to make an impact during troubled spells at Liverpool and AC Milan, partially blaming fitness problems for his lack of success.

Balotelli joined Liverpool for £16 million in August 2014 but netted only two league goals in 36 appearances during his two seasons attached to the club—one for the Reds and one for AC Milan during his season-long loan spell in Italy in 2015-16.

Since his departure from Merseyside he has been thriving in Ligue 1 with Nice, and, though there is clearly no relationship between he and Klopp, the 26-year-old refused to apportion blame to anyone for why he failed at Liverpool and Milan, per Sky Italia (via Sky Sports’ Allan Valente):

Klopp doesn’t know me, I spoke to him once, he told me to go somewhere else, work hard and then return.

So I said goodbye to them, and that we wouldn’t be seeing each other again.

[Milan and Liverpool] weren’t adapted to me. It wasn’t anyone’s fault. They weren’t ideal environments for me.

I didn’t make mistakes in terms of my game or my behaviour, but I did get injured and that’s not something I can control.

Balotelli moved to Nice on a free transfer in August, departing Liverpool under a cloud of disappointment and resentment following his torrid spell at the club.

Leave a Reply

