Manchester City centre back Eliaquim Mangala:

Eliaquim Mangala has had a somewhat uneasy start to life at Manchester City since joining back in 2014 but now the defender is beginning to show fans why the club paid £42million for his services.

The 25-year-old has come in for heavy criticism since moving to the Premier League but dominant performances over the past few weeks, including a clean sheet against PSG in the Champions League, has seen doubters take a step back.

But despite his improvements, Mangala admits he’s his own biggest critic and spends hours on end analysing his own performances.

 

Eliaquim Mangala has had a somewhat uneasy start to life at Manchester City since joining back in 2014 but now the defender is beginning to show fans why the club paid £42million for his services.

The 25-year-old has come in for heavy criticism since moving to the Premier League but dominant performances over the past few weeks, including a clean sheet against PSG in the Champions League, has seen doubters take a step back.

But despite his improvements, Mangala admits he’s his own biggest critic and spends hours on end analysing his own performances.

Eliaquim Mangala (centre) admits he's critical of his own performances and watches video clips of himself

Eliaquim Mangala (centre) admits he’s critical of his own performances and watches video clips of himself

The Manchester City defender has impressed in recent weeks following a tough start to life in England

The Manchester City defender has impressed in recent weeks following a tough start to life in England

He told The Telegraph: ‘I have a programme, they send me clips – clips of my performances analysing specific things that I do, incidents.

‘When I see my clips, I am focusing on my positions; what I am doing, what’s to my left, right, in front of me, how I deal with counter-attacks. There are so many things. Of course, it’s what you see after you have time. You can press the pause button. Stop the video and I can see.

 

Leave a Reply

